THE WAITING GAME: How did I prepare for my labor?

As a first time pregnant woman, I was very anxious and nervous about almost everything. I wanted a healthy baby and a smooth pregnancy so I was very careful at things. I watch what I eat, I avoid stress as much as possible, I make sure I won’t overdo myself physically, I keep distance to smokers, I didn’t put much makeup because of the chemicals and I wasn’t able to visit a salon/spa (because they reject me when I told them I’m pregnant). There’s so many things that you need to sacrifice when you’re pregnant.

Throughout my pregnancy, I’ve been asking myself these questions. How will I know if I’m going to have labor already? What will be the feeling? What will I do if this will happen? The thought of giving birth was just driving me insane.

As my due date is getting near, I realized that I just have to accept it. I have to embrace what’s coming. I know that this fear will be always here and there’s nothing I can do about it than to face it. I realized that I have to set my mind and the only way to overcome this is to prepare myself for it.

So, HOW DID I PREPARE FOR MY LABOR?

1. I listen to my doctor and never miss consultations. I was told that there is a slight chance that I might have a preterm labor so I strictly follow my OB’s instructions. I never miss consultations to ensure that my pregnancy was properly tracked. I made it to the point that my OB is my go-to person. My OB’s personal contact number was given to me and it became handy during my third trimester.

If people around you are advising you something when it comes to your pregnancy, make sure that you seek for your OB’s approval first before doing anything. Remember that every pregnant woman is unique. We have our own bodies, own hormones and own health situations so do not risk anything without medical consent.

2. Educate yourself about pregnancy. Knowing what’s going inside your body is actually one way of preparing for your labor. Reading a book or searching thru the internet may be the easiest to do but information can be vague, scary or cases may not apply to you. So. How?

  • Ask your OB, of course. I’m the image type of person so I didn’t risk watching live videos of a woman giving birth. I asked my OB if she had a good online source. During one of our consultations, she let me watch an animated video and yup, it was a good lecture. It was pleasing to the eyes so it kind of help me what to expect on my labor.
  • Ask your fellow moms who gave birth recently. Why recent? It’s because of the technology and everything was improving these days. My mom used to tell me that she didn’t experience having an ultrasound and that she gave birth via “twilight” process. I asked my OB about this and obviously, I’ve been taking ultrasounds from time to time and that she didn’t recommend having a twilight labor. So yeah, fellow moms who gave birth recently can give you updated knowledge, ideas or information. It’s also possible that your OB might miss telling you some of these so gather them and ask your OB on your next visit.
  • Attend birthing classes or seminars related to pregnancy or motherhood. My husband and I were able to attend a free seminar offered by the hospital. The topics were about breastfeeding, baby’s sleeping pattern, food nutrition for a pregnant woman, baby’s skin health, etc. which are all hosted by doctors. The thing is, we attended one during my first trimester so when the real deal happened, I forgot everything. LOL. Attend classes or seminars during your second to last trimester so you can still remember everything because you know, “pregnancy brain” is something we don’t have control too. Make sure you’re accompanied by your partner in attending so that in case you forgot everything, your partner might help you to remember.

3. Do prenatal yoga or pregnant safe exercises. Prenatal yoga can help you mentally and physically prepare for labor but you need medical certificate before you can sign up for sessions. I didn’t sign up for yoga classes because there’s no available in our area so I watched prenatal yoga exercises for beginners from Youtube instead. I was very careful of doing it. If I think I can’t do the position, I don’t force myself to do it – just to be safe. I also follow simple exercises or stretching from the pregnancy book provided by my OB. These simple exercises and stretches actually eased my mind and it somewhat helped my body gain strength since I’m gaining every weight every week.

4. Shop for your baby’s stuff beforehand. Yup, go shopping. You wouldn’t want to worry about the baby stuff after giving birth right? Go to the mall, buy online or try to attend some mommy fairs or mom expos. Shopping for your baby stuff might be overwhelming so be wise on buying. Invest on items that you’re going to use for a long time such as sterilizers, bottles, electric breast pumps, car seat or strollers. If you can do this on your first and second trimester, go ahead and start shopping. Believe me, it’s harder to shop when the due date is getting near because you’re getting bigger and heavier by then.

5. Prepare your hospital bag on the start of your third trimester. I prepared my hospital bag as much and as early as I can because I don’t want to miss things. I was thinking I might end up having a Cesarean section so I decided to pack our bag that is good for 3 to 4 days stay in the hospital. You can also ask the hospital if they have labor package and if it includes hospital essentials or go to labor/delivery room and ask for a list to bring.

The key in packing your hospital bag is to GO EXTRA. This is for you and your partner’s convenience since he’s the one going out and about when you forget some items.

  • Baby’s Hospital Bag – separate the ones you will hand to the labor/delivery room and the extra clothes your baby’s going to use during your stay in the hospital.
    • After delivery essentials – put them in a separate pouch or Ziplock
      • Receiving towel
      • Newborn baby clothes – side snaps (recommended) or onesies
      • Newborn mittens, booties and beanie
      • Newborn diapers
      • Baby wipes
      • Burp pads or bibs
      • Swaddle blanket
      • Baby liquid soap
      • Baby oil
      • Cotton
      • 70% Alcohol
    • Extra clothing good for 3 days – see to it that you have a lot of extra stuff (just to be sure) because they might get dirty easily
      • 2 pieces – bath towel, going home outfit
      • 3 pieces – swaddle blanket
      • 12 pieces – baby’s newborn clothes, mittens, booties, beanies, burp pads/bibs
      • A pack of baby wipes and newborn diapers good for a week
  • Mommy’s Hospital Bag
    • Clothing for 3 days
      • 2 pieces – Going home outfit
      • 3 pieces – Maternity clothing or any loose dresses, pajamas (button down or garter), socks
    • Toiletries
      • Shampoo, conditioner, body soap, body lotion
      • Toothbrush, toothpaste and mouthwash
      • Hairbrush
      • Deodorant
      • 1-2 packs of maternity pad or adult diapers
    • Nursing Essentials
      • Nursing bra and nursing cover
      • Breast pads
  • Daddy’s hospital bag
    • Clothing for 3 days
      • Jacket
      • 3 pieces or more – Shirt, shorts, pants, underwear, socks
    • Toiletries
      • Shampoo, conditioner, body soap, body lotion
      • Toothbrush, toothpaste and mouthwash
      • Hairbrush
      • Deodorant
    • “Waiting” Essentials
      • Extra pillow and blanket
      • Drinking water
      • Snacks and beverages
      • Gadgets – Ipad/tablet, phone, charger, powerbank
      • Mommy and Daddy’s documents – SSS, Philhealth, HMO/Health card and Marriage Certificate
      • Ballpen
      • Valid IDs
      • Debit/credit cards
      • Emergency cash

6. Prepare and clean the nursery. You know you’re well prepared if everything is now in place. I suggest everything should be settled and organized by your third trimester. Let your partner do the physical to do’s. It’s okay to ask for help anyway, the checklist is on you.

Preparing yourself physically, mentally and spiritually will best equip you for your labor. Educate yourself from the right sources and have the courage that you can do this.

You are a strong Mama! You got this!